Online Workshops

Hooray for online workshops! We're thrilled to have discovered a way to reach a wider audience and share more fantastic book arts workshop with students all over the world. Online workshops are now a permanent part of SFCB's curriculum, and we look forward to finding new and interesting ways to teach virtually.

All workshops listed here are offered online via Zoom. All online workshops are recorded; registered students will have access to the videos for a limited time.

If you have credit on file or a gift card, please contact us to register for a workshop.

Please read our Registration Policies before signing up for a class.

To apply for a scholarship for a specific workshop, please click here


Workshops: Online
Type Title Instructor Summary Status
Binding
Sessions: 3
Start: Thursday, January 13, 2022, 3:00 PM
End: Thursday, January 27, 2022, 4:00 PM
Erin Fletcher

Learn one of Ben Elbel's innovative structures.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Friday, January 21, 2022, 5:00 PM
End: Sunday, January 23, 2022, 4:00 PM
Shawn Sheehy

Explore the intersection of photography and paper engineering!

Wait-list
Binding, Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Saturday, January 22, 2022, 10:00 AM
End: Saturday, January 29, 2022, 12:00 PM
Pietro Accardi

Learn to make a book with a flexible and indestructible cover.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Thursday, February 3, 2022, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, February 17, 2022, 6:00 PM
Ellen Sheffield

This is a content creating workshop designed to encourage the use of our voices as artists and writers to educate about and advocate for environmental issues.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 4
Start: Saturday, February 5, 2022, 10:00 AM
End: Saturday, February 26, 2022, 12:00 PM
Pietro Accardi

New session scheduled for March - scroll down!

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Sunday, February 20, 2022, 1:00 PM
End: Sunday, February 27, 2022, 2:00 PM
Kathryn Brunet

This is an introductory level workshop for those interested in studying historical handwriting or doing primary source research with European documents from the medieval and Early Modern periods.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, February 23, 2022, 4:00 PM
End: Wednesday, February 23, 2022, 7:00 PM
Stephanie Jucker

Make an easy and useful handmade book to store all sorts of mementos!

Open
Binding
Sessions: 4
Start: Wednesday, March 2, 2022, 3:00 PM
End: Wednesday, March 23, 2022, 6:00 PM
Karen Hanmer

An elegant, streamlined binding suitable for intermediate/advanced bookbinders.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 4
Start: Sunday, March 6, 2022, 10:00 AM
End: Sunday, March 27, 2022, 12:00 PM
Pietro Accardi

All that you need to know about Western paper marbling - from home!

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Saturday, March 12, 2022, 2:00 PM
End: Saturday, March 12, 2022, 4:30 PM
Elaine Chu

Learn how to work with melted beeswax, paper ephemera, and found images to create stunning art!

Open