Online Workshops

Hooray for online workshops! We're thrilled to have discovered a way to reach a wider audience and share more fantastic book arts workshop with students all over the world. Online workshops are now a permanent part of SFCB's curriculum, and we look forward to finding new and interesting ways to teach virtually.

All workshops listed here are offered online via Zoom. All online workshops are recorded; registered students will have access to the videos for a limited time.

Please read our Registration Policies before signing up for a class.

To apply for a scholarship for a specific workshop, please click here


Workshops: Online
Type Title Instructor Summary Status
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Wednesday, October 20, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Wednesday, October 27, 2021, 6:00 PM
Rea de Guzman

Add creative content to your books by exploring fun and intuitive collages in this continuation workshop.

Closed
Binding
Sessions: 3
Start: Monday, November 1, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Monday, November 15, 2021, 6:30 PM
Rosae Reeder

Learn three different structures and decorative sewing techniques.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 4
Start: Tuesday, November 2, 2021, 5:00 PM
End: Tuesday, November 23, 2021, 7:00 PM
Shawn Sheehy

Explore the intersection of photography and paper engineering!

Wait-list
Printing
Sessions: 2
Start: Thursday, November 4, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, November 11, 2021, 6:00 PM
Lars Kim

Learn the fundamentals of digital design for letterpress! Students will learn key skills for software applications like Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign. We will explore best practices for handling photographic and vector images as well as setting digital type for photopolymer plate production.

Open
Binding
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, November 10, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Wednesday, November 10, 2021, 6:00 PM
Karen Hanmer

Learn a classic and playful artist book structure.

Wait-list
Binding
Sessions: 1
Start: Sunday, November 14, 2021, 1:00 PM
End: Sunday, November 14, 2021, 3:30 PM
Steph Rue

In this introductory workshop, students will learn about the history, techniques, tools, and materials of Korean bookbinding.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, November 17, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Wednesday, November 17, 2021, 6:00 PM
Stephanie Jucker

Create a little handmade pop-up book nestled in a tin.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Saturday, December 4, 2021, 10:00 AM
End: Sunday, December 5, 2021, 12:00 PM
Solange Roberdeau

Learn the concepts of reduction cutting and make a small edition of prints.

Open
Binding
Sessions: 2
Start: Saturday, December 11, 2021, 10:00 AM
End: Saturday, December 18, 2021, 12:00 PM
Lucia Farias

This album structure is amazing for collages, scrapbooks, and travel journals - not just for pictures!

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Sunday, December 12, 2021, 1:00 PM
End: Sunday, December 12, 2021, 4:00 PM
Stephanie Jucker

Need a change of scene? Escape inside your own little book of rooms.

Open