Arts

Arts workshops at the San Francisco Center for the Book are the creative heart of bookmaking –  where concept, materials, form and content come together. You'll find courses on varying approaches for creating an artist's book, the many art processes to capture your vision, and structures to spark your imagination.

Workshops: Arts
Type Title Instructor Summary Status
Arts
Sessions: 4
Start: Sunday, May 2, 2021, 1:00 PM
End: Sunday, May 23, 2021, 3:00 PM
Pietro Accardi

A thorough introduction to Western paper marbling.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Saturday, May 8, 2021, 2:00 PM
End: Saturday, May 8, 2021, 4:30 PM
Elaine Chu

Learn how to work with melted beeswax, paper ephemera, and found images to create stunning art!

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Monday, May 10, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Monday, May 10, 2021, 6:00 PM
Stephanie Jucker

New session scheduled for June - scroll down!

Closed
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Monday, May 17, 2021, 4:30 PM
End: Monday, May 24, 2021, 7:00 PM
Rea de Guzman

Learn the essentials of mixing colors for making art: color theory, application, and washes for painting, illustrating, and more!

Open
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Monday, May 31, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, June 3, 2021, 6:00 PM
Michelle Wilson

Explore embroidery stitches on paper as a markmaking tool and means to embellish prints, photos, and artist books.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Friday, June 4, 2021, 5:00 PM
End: Sunday, June 6, 2021, 4:00 PM
Shawn Sheehy

The second class in the series: adapt classic pop-up structures to make YOUR OWN novel structures, and bind them up with a scroll-like technique.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Saturday, June 5, 2021, 10:00 AM
End: Saturday, June 12, 2021, 12:00 PM
Sarah Matthews

Let’s paint, print, and make a zine of art!

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Thursday, June 10, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, June 10, 2021, 6:00 PM
Stephanie Jucker

New session!
Need a change of scene? Escape inside your own little book of rooms.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Tuesday, June 15, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Tuesday, June 22, 2021, 6:00 PM
Bhavna Mehta

Create a colorful book sculpture with cut paper pages that displays as a lush garden.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Wednesday, June 16, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Wednesday, June 30, 2021, 6:00 PM
Ellen Sheffield

A workshop for artists and writers looking for fresh conceptual tools to generate content.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Saturday, June 19, 2021, 2:00 PM
End: Saturday, June 26, 2021, 4:00 PM
Tim Svenonius

Learn to make multi-part stencils for illustration and design.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Monday, June 21, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Monday, June 28, 2021, 5:00 PM
Bettina Pauly

Make art with your never-used pasta machine! (and you can still use the pasta maker for noodles).

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Sunday, June 27, 2021, 1:00 PM
End: Sunday, June 27, 2021, 3:30 PM
Steph Rue

Learn how to piece together paper scraps to create a patchwork of art based on the method and design of bojagi, traditional Korean wrapping cloths.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, July 7, 2021, 1:00 PM
End: Wednesday, July 7, 2021, 4:00 PM
Dorothy Yuki

Want to bind single sheets easily? The Lark's Head Binding will do the trick!

Open