Board of Directors

  • Mary Austin

    SFCB Founder

    Mary Austin is a Founder of San Francisco Center for the Book. She is an artist's book collector and philanthropist with extensive experience in non-profit management. She served as Curator and Assistant Director of the Museum of Printing History in Houston, TX for many years before becoming Director of Explore Print! in San Francisco. Mary is the proprietor of The Underground Press.

  • Kathleen Burch

    SFCB Founder

    Kathleen is a Founder of San Francisco Center for the Book. She is the owner of Burch Typografica, a past member of Burning Books Press and a past president of The Book Club of California.

  • Coleen Curry

    Board Secretary, Governance Committee Chair

    Coleen is successful in business with her husband, Paul. She attended and holds a diploma from the American Academy of Bookbinding and is a successful design binder. She has worked with Don Glaister as his studio assistant. Coleen is very well acquainted with the leadership and management of the American Academy of Bookbinding and helps to strengthen relations between San Francisco Center for the Book and that organization. She is a past President of the Hand Bookbinders of California.

  • David Faulds

    Imprint Committee Chair

    David is the Curator of Rare Books and Literary Manuscripts at The Bancroft Library, University of California Berkeley. He previously worked at the Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library, Robert W. Woodruff Library, Emory University; the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University; and St Edmund Hall, Oxford University.

  • Meryl Macklin

    Board Chair

    Meryl has been a business trial lawyer for over 30 years and is currently a litigation partner at Bryan Cave.  She has a particular passion for making things, which has expanded to include bookbinding.   She has taken a number of classes at the Center, which led her to want to expand her involvement with this wonderful organization.  She also loves to read books.

  • Mark Mavroudis

    Board Vice Chair

    Mark is a Silicon Valley technology professional with a background in computer imaging and digital printing/publishing. He has held senior and executive roles at large corporations and early stage venture-funded companies in engineering, business development, sales and marketing. He has a passion for books and maps, along with an interest and curiosity in the history of printing and traditional printmaking techniques.

  • Margaret Miller

    Margaret has a MBA from Stanford, was VP of marketing at several Silicon Valley marketing firms, and is now with Cisco. She has been on the San Francisco Center for the Book board since 1998.

  • Judy Nadler

    Judy Shasky Nadler joins the board after a decade at Sunset Magazine, two terms as mayor of the city of Santa Clara, and 11 years as Senior Fellow in Government Ethics at Santa Clara University, where she provided  ethics education to public officials and the press.

    She has served on many non-profit boards and held leadership positions with the Arts Council of Silicon Valley, Harvard Kennedy School Alumni Council, Triton Museum of Art, American Leadership Forum, and United States Conference of Mayors. 

    Her lifelong love of books has led her to learn letterpress printing, bookbinding, paper marbling, Copperplate calligraphy, and many other skills at SFCB.