Workshops

All in-person workshops are currently posponed due to Covid-19. All workshops listed here are offered online via Zoom.

By adding yourself to a waitlist, you help us decide which classes to offer again as encores. Thank you!

Please read our Registration Policies before signing up for a class.

Sign up for our newsletter to receive updates on reopening and rescheduled workshops.

 

 

Workshops: All
Type Title Instructorsort descending Summary Status
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Saturday, February 13, 2021, 1:00 PM
End: Saturday, February 20, 2021, 3:00 PM
Nina Eve Zeininger

With just a few simple tools, a bit of paint & paste, learn to decorate and pattern your own paper for book covers, endsheets, or wrapping paper.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Saturday, March 20, 2021, 2:00 PM
End: Saturday, March 20, 2021, 4:30 PM
Elaine Chu

Learn how to work with melted beeswax, paper ephemera, and found images to create stunning art!

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Sunday, February 7, 2021, 2:00 PM
End: Sunday, February 7, 2021, 4:00 PM
Elaine Chu

Create beautiful monoprints using gel plates and objects found in nature.

Wait-list
Printing
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, January 20, 2021, 2:00 PM
End: Wednesday, January 20, 2021, 4:00 PM
Chad Johnson

The second class in the online Letterpress Essentials series. Great printing starts with a solid form: the type and images locked in a press bed. This class covers trimming paper, mixing ink, and how to prepare your type for printing.

Open
Printing
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, February 3, 2021, 2:00 PM
End: Wednesday, February 3, 2021, 4:00 PM
Chad Johnson

The third class in the online Letterpress Essentials series. Understanding how type, bed, rollers and impression work makes great presswork from solid typesetting. This class addresses key aspects of getting a form ready to print.

Open
Printing
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, February 17, 2021, 2:00 PM
End: Wednesday, February 17, 2021, 4:00 PM
Chad Johnson

The fourth class in the online Letterpress Essentials series. Putting everything together, this final session focuses on running a small, multi-pass edition and many of the decisions and complications that can arise when putting ink on paper.

Open
Binding
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, March 10, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Wednesday, March 10, 2021, 6:00 PM
Karen Hanmer

Learn this classic and versatile lay-flat adhesive binding

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Monday, January 25, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Monday, January 25, 2021, 5:00 PM
Bettina Pauly

Learn to create great images using a simple stencil in this introductory workshop.

Wait-list
Binding, Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Tuesday, February 23, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Tuesday, March 2, 2021, 5:00 PM
Bettina Pauly

Learn this visually intricate, classic artist book structure!

Open
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Saturday, February 6, 2021, 9:00 AM
End: Sunday, February 7, 2021, 11:00 AM
Radha Pandey

Learn how to naturally dye papers which you can then transform into paper thread or kami-ito.

Wait-list
Binding
Sessions: 2
Start: Tuesday, January 12, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Tuesday, January 19, 2021, 6:00 PM
Juliayn Coleman

New session added for March 2021 - scroll down!

Closed
Binding
Sessions: 3
Start: Thursday, February 11, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, February 25, 2021, 6:30 PM
Juliayn Coleman

A skills building workshop for intermediate bookbinders

Open
Binding
Sessions: 2
Start: Thursday, March 4, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, March 11, 2021, 6:00 PM
Juliayn Coleman

Learn to apply gold leaf to handmade paper, then use that paper for the cover of an ingenious adhesive-free binding.

Wait-list
Binding
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 6:00 PM
Michelle Wilson

Explore the possibilities of paper by learning some folding techniques to make a non-adhesive Franklin Fold book structure and two slipcase variations.

Wait-list
Binding, Arts
Sessions: 4
Start: Monday, February 1, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Monday, February 22, 2021, 5:00 PM
Matt Runkle

Explore the conceptual and practical ways of thinking when making artist's books, with a focus on editioning.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Tuesday, January 26, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, January 28, 2021, 6:00 PM
Ellen Sheffield

A workshop for artists and/or writers who want to expand their visual and literary practices by exploring text in the book format.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Saturday, March 13, 2021, 10:00 AM
End: Saturday, March 27, 2021, 12:00 PM
Raoul Martinez

Learn Fraktur calligraphy, a baroque version of blackletter.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Tuesday, February 2, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, February 4, 2021, 6:00 PM
Rea de Guzman

Explore the fun and intuitive nature of collage in this introductory workshop.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Monday, March 22, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Wednesday, March 24, 2021, 6:00 PM
Rea de Guzman

Learn how to transfer laser prints onto various surfaces such as canvas, paper, and wood.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Thursday, January 21, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, January 21, 2021, 6:00 PM
Stephanie Jucker

Create a little handmade pop-up book nestled in a tin.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, February 24, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Wednesday, February 24, 2021, 6:00 PM
Stephanie Jucker

Make an easy and useful handmade book to store all sorts of mementos!

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Thursday, March 18, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, March 25, 2021, 6:00 PM
Stephanie Jucker

Create a unique artist’s book using textiles, stitching, inks and collage.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Tuesday, February 9, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Tuesday, February 16, 2021, 5:30 PM
Tim Svenonius

Learn principles and practices for tapping into your creative flow and maintaining a drawing journal habit.

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Friday, January 22, 2021, 5:00 PM
End: Sunday, January 24, 2021, 4:00 PM
Shawn Sheehy

Can't get no "satisfaction"? This movables workshop will help!

Wait-list
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Friday, March 5, 2021, 5:00 PM
End: Sunday, March 7, 2021, 4:00 PM
Shawn Sheehy

Adapt classic pop-up structures to make YOUR OWN novel structures, and bind them up with a scroll-like technique.

Open
Binding
Sessions: 4
Start: Tuesday, March 9, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Tuesday, March 30, 2021, 7:00 PM
Samuel Feinstein

Learn the fundamentals of blind and gold tooling on leather.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 2
Start: Saturday, March 6, 2021, 10:00 AM
End: Sunday, March 7, 2021, 12:00 PM
Solange Roberdeau

Learn to apply metal leaf to paper, wood and stone as a compositional element.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Sunday, February 21, 2021, 10:30 AM
End: Sunday, February 21, 2021, 1:30 PM
Judi Tentor

Learn how to use this historic alternative photographic process to create multiple prints from hand drawn negatives and photograms from your chosen objects.

Open
Arts
Sessions: 3
Start: Sunday, March 14, 2021, 2:00 PM
End: Sunday, March 28, 2021, 3:30 PM
Kate Laster

How in this time of social distancing can we connect through art and tenderness? MAIL ART!

Open
Binding
Sessions: 3
Start: Saturday, January 9, 2021, 10:00 AM
End: Saturday, January 23, 2021, 12:00 PM
Brien Beidler

In this three-session online workshop, students will learn how to turn brass stock into beautiful and functional finishing tools.

Wait-list
Printing
Sessions: 1
Start: Monday, March 8, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Monday, March 8, 2021, 7:00 PM
Laimah Osman

Learn to use paper lithography, also known as gum arabic transfer, to print both text and images.

Open