Binding

SFCB's bookbinding courses range from the enduring structures of both Western and Eastern traditions to contemporary approaches, with a wealth of bookmaking techniques in between, including pamphlets, pop-ups, exposed sewing stitches, protective boxes, photo albums and more.

Workshops: Binding
Typesort descending Title Instructor Summary Status
Binding
Sessions: 3
Start: Saturday, January 9, 2021, 10:00 AM
End: Saturday, January 23, 2021, 12:00 PM
Brien Beidler

In this three-session online workshop, students will learn how to turn brass stock into beautiful and functional finishing tools.

Wait-list
Binding
Sessions: 3
Start: Thursday, February 11, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, February 25, 2021, 6:30 PM
Juliayn Coleman

A skills building workshop for intermediate bookbinders

Open
Binding
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 6:00 PM
Michelle Wilson

Explore the possibilities of paper by learning some folding techniques to make a non-adhesive Franklin Fold book structure and two slipcase variations.

Wait-list
Binding
Sessions: 2
Start: Thursday, March 4, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, March 11, 2021, 6:00 PM
Juliayn Coleman

Learn to apply gold leaf to handmade paper, then use that paper for the cover of an ingenious adhesive-free binding.

Wait-list
Binding
Sessions: 1
Start: Wednesday, March 10, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Wednesday, March 10, 2021, 6:00 PM
Karen Hanmer

Learn this classic and versatile lay-flat adhesive binding

Wait-list
Binding
Sessions: 4
Start: Tuesday, March 9, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Tuesday, March 30, 2021, 7:00 PM
Samuel Feinstein

Learn the fundamentals of blind and gold tooling on leather.

Wait-list
Binding
Sessions: 1
Start: Thursday, April 1, 2021, 4:00 PM
End: Thursday, April 1, 2021, 6:00 PM
Juliayn Coleman

Learn to sew an endband - a necessary part of any fine binding.

Open
Binding, Arts
Sessions: 4
Start: Monday, February 1, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Monday, February 22, 2021, 5:00 PM
Matt Runkle

Explore the conceptual and practical ways of thinking when making artist's books, with a focus on editioning.

Open
Binding, Arts
Sessions: 1
Start: Tuesday, February 23, 2021, 3:00 PM
End: Tuesday, March 2, 2021, 5:00 PM
Bettina Pauly

Learn this visually intricate, classic artist book structure.

Open